ElizaThinksAllowed
Favourite Things

A Few of My Favourite Things

I have had a lot of negativity popping up in my life over the past few months. In my personal relationships, my social media feeds, my town, my social circle and even within myself. I could feel myself being sucked in and becoming very overwhelmed with it all. I was finding it difficult to process these feelings in my typical Eliza style, which according to one of my closest friends, who happens to be my sister, is smothering it in “sunshine and rainbows”. So I decided to take some of my own advice and start noticing some of the little things in my life that give me the feels or just make my day that little bit better.

Here are a few of my favourite things:

Fresh Coconut Water

Coconut WaterI only found these at Woolworths yesterday! These bad boys are drinking coconuts. If you don’t know, coconut water comes from green coconuts, not your normal, stereotypical coconut. I cracked this bad boy open, chucked in a straw (couldn’t find any mini umbrella’s) and drank myself full of glorious tasting coconut water whilst imagining myself on some tropical island beach. It was sweet, refreshing and the best coconut water I’ve ever had, hands down. None of that fermented icky taste you get from prepackaged coconut water. The flesh is also pretty tasty and I’ve read that you can blend it up and use it as a coconut cream. These are going to be my new favourite drink while we are up the coast and when the summer temperatures kick in. A delicious, pretty cool looking way of keeping myself hydrated (they say coconut water is good for that) over the summer! If you don’t like the taste of prepackaged coconut water, then give it one more go like this! Absolutely delicious and with a little bit of rum or lime?! I’m certain it would be amazeballs. “You put the lime in the coconut and drink it all up”

Mango Icecream

Mango IcecreamThere is a little local store that sells organically grown fruits, vegetables and herbs. They also sell homemade ‘icecreams’ and dried strawberry, mango and banana. I love this place to bits and never leave there without some amazingly delicious foods. Now that it is warming up, they’re ‘icecreams’ are a must. I say icecream, and that’s how they market them but they are more sorbet or just frozen fruit that looks like an icecream. It’s 100% pureed fruit frozen in this amazingly delicious, healthy, refreshing little bundle of amazingness. They do many kinds from frozen whole banana’s dipped in white or milk chocolate, frozen whole strawberries dipped in white or milk chocolate, sapote icecreams, mango icecreams, custard apple icecreams and a few others. My favourite, so far, are the mango icecreams. Mmmmm. Unfortunately they are not open for very long and close over the summer. Before they closed last year R and I loaded our freezer full of all different kinds of their frozen goodies so we could enjoy them over the summer.. I think we will do it again this year.

Nature’s Way Multivitamins

Nature's Way Multi Vitamins

I know, it might seem a bit funny but I like to know what I am putting into my body. Multivitamins you get are all well and good and full of all the main vitamins you need, but most of the time they are synthetically sourced or made and you often miss out on the very little bits and bobs that are also needed. Vitamins are expensive so R and I always look for what’s on special and that determines what we get etc. I’ve been keeping my eye out for vegan multivitamins. Not multivitamins for vegans in particular but ones that don’t have any animal products in them. We were scanning all the products with clearance or sale tickets and I found these. Not only are they vegan but they sourced from whole foods and they’re non GMO. That is, actual vegetables, herbs and fruits none of this synthetically made stuff! I was chuffed! They’re not needed as an everyday vitamin, but when you feel like you haven’t eaten as well as you could of you can take one of these whole, or pop it open and sprinkle it into your meal or add it to a smoothie. I don’t know about you, but I am stoked Nature’s Way make these bad boys and that Woolworths stock them. I love looking at an ingredients list and seeing all of these amazing fruits and vegetables names that I recognize. I will absolutely be getting these again.

Thursday Plantation – Tea Tree Face Wash

Tea Tree Face WashI have been lucky when it comes to my skin. I never used to wash my face that often, sounds gross I know. I would wash it with water every day but I’ve never been one to apply a product to my face on a regular basis. Living in these kinds of temperatures and using a lot of sunscreen/zinc, I have felt the need for a little extra oomph when it comes to washing my face. I’m not a fan of using soap because it dries my skin out too much. I found this and haven’t looked back. Tea Tree can be very overpowering, but not in this product. The chamomile really soothes the tea tree oil and leaves your face feeling incredible. I wet my face, pump once, massage foam into my skin, and rinse with water. I come out of the shower with my face feeling so soft and cleansed. I cannot vouch for it’s acne fighting capabilities but I can definitely vouch for it’s everyday face washing abilities. I have had no problem with oily skin since using this product. Highly recommend and would love to know how it works for those with acne. Plus, it’s vegan! Win, win.

Priya Shower Gel

Priya Body WashThese shower gel’s make your skin feel amazing, smell amazing and have gorgeous little messages on the back of the bottle that are just so uplifting and relaxing. It’s the perfect read while you’re in the shower taking in the beautiful scent and feel of these gels. There are 4 scents that I know of, 3 of which are vegan. I have only taken a photo of two because the other one is currently in use. The scents are; Real Olive Oil with notes of Garden Cucumber and Clary Sage, Real Coconut Milk with juicy hints of Fresh Cut Lime and Real Macadamia Oil with bright bursts of Kakadu Plum and Fresh Fig the non vegan product is Goats Milk and French Vanilla and Hazelnut, I think. The ones I have used are all so amazing and smell divine. Not only are they delicious but they are Australian made and owned and free of all those nasty chemicals. Every time I have a shower with one of these my skin feels so soft and I smell amazing. You will have to find it in your local Woolworths and give them a smell and read the beautiful message on the back and all over the front of the bottle.

These are just a few things that make my day that much better, especially when I’m having a crappy one.

Keep it real,

Eliza x

This post is not endorsed or sponsored in any way.

This entry was published on September 26, 2014 at 5:43 PM. It’s filed under Health and Wellbeing, Lifestyle, Vegan and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “A Few of My Favourite Things

  1. LOVE mangoes in all their glorious forms! It’s important to be able stop and think of the good things around us when life is getting us down and your little list of items make the daily grind that much tastier :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

