ElizaThinksAllowed

The meaning of life.. and other Updates

I’ve been having existential crisis’ every few days, asking myself questions that no-one really has the answers too. We like to think we have the answers, but we don’t and probably never will. I’ve been feeling like I have no sense of direction, no real point to my life. Why are we even floating around the sun? Why are we sitting on this thing, that’s floating around the sun? What’s the point of it all?! WHY?

I had a discussion with R about it and we found ourselves on Wikipedia in none other but the Philosophy section. Yeah, pretty heavy stuff going on there. I was racking my brain trying to figure out what in the world some of these philosophical theories meant, researching some of these fellows and honestly, most of them ended up depressed and ended their own lives all because of ‘The Meaning Of Life’ or lack thereof.

R found ‘Abusrdism‘.

In philosophy, “the Absurd” refers to the conflict between (a) the human tendency to seek inherent value and meaning in life and (b) the human inability to find any. – Wikipedia.

Without getting too in depth, it made me giggle and feel a bit better.

I’ve spent the last few days with a more positive attitude getting myself organised for UNI which I am really looking forward to and getting our budget in order so we can save as much as possible. We spent last night researching  “How to travel with no money” and “How to make money while traveling” I don’t know what we expected to find but it made the prospect of traveling seem that few inches closer. We want to travel but we want to get our mortgage into a slightly better position before hand which means cutting back on privileges like going out for dinner and drinks, alcohol etc. It doesn’t really bother either of us because we’re both wanting to pass up some lifestyle choices for healthier ones.

Drinking is a big thing here, because there’s not much else to do and everyone loves a cold cider on those 50 degree days. I’ve given up trying to keep up with the locals here and I’m going to give the alcohol a bit of a miss for a while. I don’t feel great most days and I’m sure those few glasses of wine the night before aren’t really helping. Honestly, I don’t think I’m going to miss it all that much.

I’ve contemplated going vegetarian for quite a few months and I’m slowly winding down my meat intake. I have a few reasons for this decision but my main reason is health. Most of the people I have met who are vegetarian or vegan are absolutely radiating energy and health and I want that! I want to see if it does the same for me PLUS vegetarian food is so YUM. I don’t really eat much meat anyway and I’m enjoying experimenting with vegetables and fruits I never considered eating let alone cooking with! I’m having a lot of fun.

This has been an update post. I hope you’re all well and thankyou for putting up with me. :)

Keep it real,

Eliza

 

This entry was published on July 8, 2014 at 11:25 AM. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

