ElizaThinksAllowed

What to do when you don’t know what to do..

Last week I couldn’t bring myself to type a full post about any of the things I thought whinge worthy and by the end, I decided that they weren’t really whinge worthy at all.

This week, isn’t much different. I mean, what is wrong with me? I designate one day a week to whinge about whatever I want.. and I can’t even take advantage of it.. What kind of life am I living?!

I hereby declare, Whinging Wednesday a flop. UNLESS I just whinge about not having anything to whinge about every week? mmyeah.. didn’t think so.

I dunno what they will become.. but for now, have this:

What To Do

What to do when you don’t know what to do

I quite often find myself in this situation and asking myself this exact question.. usually when I get frustrated from writers block, creative block or I’m trying to scrape my motivation up off the ground with a toothpick.. Naturally, I get agitated and cranky..  R tries to help and rattles of things to do and I decline them all.. taking his head off with it..  Here are some things I’ve learned to really help get you up and running, back to your normal cheery self.

  1. Change it up: If you’re at the point where you know you’re bored, but you don’t know what to do or you’re experiencing a mental blockage of some kind.. it’s time for a change. Take yourself out to lunch or go sit at the beach and watch the waves roll in, read a book in the park or even catch the train and people watch.. Don’t get all “Ain’t nobody got time for that”. Trust me, you probably spend more time worrying and stressing about things than actually doing things.. I find a change of scenery is the best thing, even if it’s getting in the car for a little drive. Something to reboot your senses and clear out the muck accumulated from the little routine rut you got yourself in.
  2. Do that thing: You know what I mean, that thing you have been putting off for days or even weeks. Yes, it’s still there.. waiting to be done.. niggling at you in the back of your mind. I don’t know why we put things off.. they only add to that build up of mental muck. Trust me, do that thing.. or at least make a start on it and you will feel like you have conquered the world!!!.. well maybe not conquered the world but you will feel a heap better.. mentally cleaner..
  3. Clean: Yep, boring I know, but seriously, when you’re stuck in that rut doing a bit of cleaning, or rearranging your furniture can make a massive difference.. Even just rearranging the way you display your nail polishes or your desk can make a massive difference. Make your bed, with nice clean linen.. that my friend, does wonders.
  4. Have a Shower: I think one of the main things to do when you’ve reached this point.. well it is for me anyway.. is take time for myself. So rearranging nail polishes and making my bed are things that I do for me.. Another thing is taking a shower, or a nice bath. I don’t know about you but I love the shower. It is one of my most favorite past times. Jump in the shower/bath and really relax and enjoy it. Most of the time we shower for cleanliness (duh) but this time, shower because it’s awesome, shave your legs.. take your time, feel the water running over your skin.. Shower for fun not because its a chore..
  5. Go Tech Free: It’s a part of our lives 24/7, heck we can’t even have dinner with friends without it.. I’m just as guilty as anyone else.. to the point R and I have declared to have 2 “Tech Free” days a week. When I say Tech Free, I mean social networks. I find we get so caught up in what everyone else is doing, we don’t do anything ourselves.. or we do but don’t fully enjoy it because we’re posting, tweeting etc about it and can’t really enjoy what we’re doing. Give it a go.. if you’re too scared to go a full day, then try an hr and slowly increase it. Only use your phone for replying to texts and answering phone calls. Use it only when necessary.. it does wonders. Plus you get way more excited by the end of your tech free period when you finally jump back on and all these things have or haven’t happened.
  6. Plan: Plan your way back into your routine. Sounds weird, I’ve just told you how to break your routine and now I’m telling you how to plan your way back into it. We humans seem to be creatures of habit, but we also love change, so go figure.. Designate certain times for your social networking, for your assignments, for studying, for cleaning, for working out, for television, even designate some ‘Me time’ in there. Once you get used to it, your plan will become your normal routine.. and you will find yourself way more productive, with a whole lot more time on your hands. Having a plan, makes everyone feel better and nothing is more satisfying than crossing things off a list..

That’s it. 6 ways to break free of your mental sludge and get you back on that horse!! Next time you’ve hit this place, give some or all of things a go and let me know how it goes.

It’s been real!

Eliza

This entry was published on March 5, 2014 at 9:00 AM. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

