ElizaThinksAllowed

Mungday Madness! – Cheese Fondue

Back home, we had this little Fondue Cafe. Unfortunately the business owner ran into some financial complications and had to close up shop. This my friends, was a sad, sad day.

When I talk to people about fondue the first thing they think of is chocolate fondue. This cafe did both cheese and chocolate. With the chocolate fondue you choose 4 dippers, ranging from banana, orange, strawberries. blueberries, grapes, rock melon and marshmallows. They even had a few different dipping sauces.. so white, dark and classic chocolate, but also a caramel.. I think all the time’s I went there I tried the chocolate fondue once.. My go to fondue was, and will always be.. CHEESE.

My goodness it was glorious.. you could have cheese fondue, or cheese and bacon fondue, or deluxe fondue with different cheeses… amazing. My favourite was just the basic cheese fondue. Again there were options for dippers, but sometimes just the bread was enough. Some of the their dippers were things like, carrots, broccoli, potato, and steak..

When the little cafe closed, R and I took it upon ourselves to not let it effect the relationship we had developed with cheese fondue.. so we did some research and acquired a recipe. The few times we followed the recipe, it never turned out very well.. mostly too runny.

But do not fear my lovelies, I have mastered the cheese fondue experience and I am going to share it with you! Although I have kinda learned how to do it without exact measurements.. but I will try to get some sort of recipe down for y’all.

What you will need:

  • 200g – 250g  Gouda Cheese
  • 200g – 250g Swiss Cheese

I say 200g – 250g because I can’t remember what they are usually prepackaged as.. sometimes they’re even 225g so as long as it’s equal amount within that range y’all good.

  • 1/4 cup of dry white wine and a little bit more for good measure
  • 1 heaped desert spoon of corn flour
  • Nutmeg and pepper to taste

Method:

  • Grate cheese (no need to keep separated)
  • Put Wine in pot and put on heat..Wait until you see the bottom covered in bubbles.. Try not to let the wine boil.
  • Dissolve the Corn Flour in a little bit of wine and add it to the wine in the pot.
  • Stir until it becomes this weird, thick gloop.
  • Start stirring in the cheese a little bit at a time until there isn’t any cheese left.. It should now be a thick creamy cheesy mixture of goodness.
  • I usually dip a fork in and if it coats the fork perfectly.. its all good. If it seems too thick, splash a little more wine in and stir.. Be careful not to put too much in though because if it goes too runny, you can’t go back.
  • Add pepper, and nutmeg to taste and stir it all up.. It’s fine without, more of a preference thing.

You should now have some delicious cheese that you can dip whatever you like in.

Ideas for Dippers:

  • Baguette cut into crouton sized squares and grilled till crunchy
  • Garlic bread
  • Steak
  • Chicken
  • Ham
  • Tomatos
  • Vegetables – broccoli (raw or cooked), cauli flower (raw or cooked) zucchini, carrot, potato, sweet potato.

Anything you think would taste awesome with cheese.

So there you have it! Delicious fondue for you and a few friends to enjoy.

I must warn you though, Gouda cheese smells really freakin funky but don’t let it throw you off.

Here’s a few pictures I snapped on my phone before devouring the deliciousness.

Cheese Fondue

Cheese Fondue

Let me know if you give this crazy lax recipe a go.. trust me, it may be lax but it turns out delicious.

I hope you like it.. Happy Mungday!!

Keep it real,

Eliza

This entry was published on March 3, 2014 at 2:22 PM. It’s filed under Mungday Madness!, Recipe's and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

