ElizaThinksAllowed

What is Reputation? Seriously..???

Zero to hero has decided to steer us towards the daily prompt task today which is all about Reputation. Oh goody..

I’m not entirely sure how I feel about reputations. I don’t know if they’re good, bad or indifferent but the first thing that pops into my head is “Reputation is everything”

I was told a lot, growing up, that my reputation was everything.. now that I think about it, I tend to disagree…to an extent.

According to some dictionary I found on google, reputation means:

the beliefs or opinions that are generally held about someone or something.

The first thing that comes to my mind is:

Does that mean I don’t have complete control over my reputation? The answer would be no. No Eliza, you do not.

Is my reputation partly dependent on other people?

I think so…

Reputations are what people think of you.. like seriously.. that’s basically what they are.. It makes me think that reputation and gossip can be very much mistaken for each other.. or are they the same thing?

gossip: casual or unconstrained conversation or reports about other people, typically involving details which are not confirmed as true.

Hmm.. gossip could definitely turn into “general beliefs or opinions” if repeated enough.. Is that how politics works? Or advertising?.. maybs..

Basically, reputations are what people think of you and to another extent how you conduct yourself.

How you conduct yourself can totally be misinterpreted. Some people may see things differently depending on their own insecurities, their morals and values, their beliefs, their expectations, their perspectives/perceptions and in turn effect your reputation..

My reputation can even depend on what side of the bed you woke up on!

Are reputations just opinions? If you get enough people to believe the same thing about someone.. that could become their reputation.

It’s common in movies, especially when there is highschool involved.. there’s always a kid who is known as the slut or something… then at some point you find out that it was just a rumor they weren’t strong enough to defend, so they just went with the flow.. and let everyone believe it..

Sometimes they even embrace the rumor, or they spread it themselves.. like in Easy A.

So, I guess all I’ve figured out is that reputations could be gossip or rumors that others or myself have started… man, I’m confused.

Reputations can also be good, don’t get me wrong. Reading this back, I got a major negative vibe..

I assume these to be my reputations..

– I have a reputation of being lazy.. I say, I just really like doing nothing.. a lot.

– I have a reputation of being totally awkward on the phone.

– I have a reputation of being the one who’s dancing when no-one else is.

– I also have a reputation of being the coolest cat in town.. (may or may not have been started by me)

Reputations fall into the grey area me thinks… I absolutely have no idea about them.. they seem untrustworthy, but at times they hit the nail on the head..

Moral of the story kids: Don’t always take what someone says about someone/something as complete and utter truth and, do your own research..

Within reason, of course. If someone says “Don’t jump off that cliff into the water, its pretty shallow and you probably wont survive”  I wouldn’t think this a time to ‘find out for yourself’.. ya know?

EPIPHANY!

MAYBE.. reputations are more about your values and morals.. nah that doesn’t make sense.. everyone’s are different.. and everything you do and say, is usually based on your morals and beliefs and such..soooo.. sorry guys..

UN-EPIPHANY!

I don’t know…

EPIPHANY TAKE TWO!

Our reputation is primarily based on our interactions. Be it conversational or observational..??? But I guess that could then be called an opinion.. or a judgment.. But if people tend to get the same general vibe from you, is that then what becomes your reputation?

Is it really this bazaar? Or am I just having an ‘Eliza’ moment???

I don’t even know what’s happening..

Has it even been real?

Eliza

This entry was published on January 18, 2014 at 5:12 PM. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “What is Reputation? Seriously..???

  1. I have really enjoyed reading your blog! I have nominated you for the Liebster Award! The questions are on my blog: http://theoddlandofme.wordpress.com/2014/01/18/liebster-award-2/

    Like

  2. You reputation can be what you make it when you choose to act on your ethics and morals. If you choose to help people your reputation as a helpful person will reflect that. :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

