ElizaThinksAllowed

Zero to Hero – Day 3: What’s on your mind?

Today’s challenge is to: write the post that was on your mind when you first started your blog.

I did that in one of my first posts New Beginnings.

I’ve always felt the need to be successful at something. So I tried to be good at a lot of different things and was always being disappointed.

One day, as I was reading back some of my posts, I found that I really didn’t like what I was reading. There was no ‘me’ to my writing. Then came the epiphany. “I’m trying too hard. You sign things off with ‘keep it real’. Are you even keeping it real?.”  It felt like a bright light was beaming from the top of my head.. and I did one of the hardest things for a human to do..I took my own advice. “Keep it real

From then on (literally a few days ago) my outlook has changed dramatically and I feel like I can be myself, not only in my writing but in my everyday life. I’m sure I’ll have my bad days but like my good friend, Bob Ross said “Gotta have sadness once in a while so you know when the good times come..”

I’ve finally started thinking like a blogger and now I get waves of ideas for posts. They’re usually inspired by something I’ve found on the internet, heard in real life or just things that run through my mind when I’m in particular situations. I know that sounds like a no brainer, but I found it really difficult to get inspiration until the bright light shot out of my head.

I love the way my notebook looks.

notebook

It gives me the fuzzies!

So moral of the story?

Keep it real and be true to yourself. You’ll have a lot more fun and feel a whole lot better about.. well,  everything..

And that’s what was on my mind.. when I really started blogging.

This entry was published on January 5, 2014 at 10:07 AM. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on “Zero to Hero – Day 3: What’s on your mind?

  1. Eliza, really liked your realization that you were keeping a distance previously in your blog posts – and your determination to bring “you” to the blog. Great! – Theresa

    Like

  2. Love it – being true to yourself is what I aim to keep doing :)

    Like

  3. I love the picture of your notebook. It’s an idea I plan to someday post… a picture of a page from my own notebook accompanied by the actual blog post that resulted from that page.

    Like

Leave a Reply

