ElizaThinksAllowed

Expectation – a belief that someone will or should achieve something.

I have been struggling with expectations or perceived expectations in regards to being successful in life since forever. Be it from teachers, family, friends, society or myself.

I don’t like the concept of expectations. I think it adds unnecessary stress and fears that don’t need to exist.

Basically, just because I chose not to go to university and chose to be unemployed does not mean that I will not achieve anything. I feel that there is a high expectation from society to ‘become’ something through university or you will not achieve.

I had some teachers at High School tell my class that if we do not get a good HSC result, we will not get into university and will be stacking shelves at Coles for the rest of our lives. Like come on.. Seriously? And what’s wrong with stacking shelves? I did it for almost 4 years, and loved every bit of it.

And as if anyone can tell me if I’ve achieved something or not. Everyone’s perception and understanding of achievement is different. It changes from person to person. One person may think graduating university is an achievement where another may think getting out of bed every day is an achievement.

I am blessed to have R, who is happy for me to take this time to decide what it is I want to achieve. Be it a kick ass career or a stay at home mum, he doesn’t mind, and nor do I. But for now, I’m sticking to figuring out who I am and who I want to be.

I know of a few people who think that being a stay at home mum and not having a career is being a failure. Well I’m sorry, but you’re wrong.

Failure:

1. The condition or fact of not achieving the desired end or ends (Who’s desired end or ends?)

2. The condition or fact of being insufficient or falling short: (Falling short by who’s standards?)

3. Nonperformance of what is requested or expected (Who’s expectations?)

 

Be who you want to be, and do what you want to do. Regardless of expectations.

Keep it real,

Eliza

This entry was published on December 13, 2013 at 8:03 AM. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Expectation – a belief that someone will or should achieve something.

  1. ELW Essence on said:

    … but always aim high! Whatever you chose to do never be average at that x

    Like

Leave a Reply

