ElizaThinksAllowed

I’m Dreaming Of A Skype Christmas

SKype Christmas

Christmas is probably my most favourite time of the year. I love the food, the drinks, the activities and most importantly, spending time with family. Being away from family during the festive season is something I’m not accustomed to.

Let’s just say, Christmas is going to be a bit different this year.

I am 1 of 5 sisters. All up, when you count the partners and the nieces and nephews there is usually 15 of us total at Christmas.

Christmas day goes a little like this:

Wake up around 6am and open the mountain of presents with the whole family (mountain is no overstatement). We have this tradition where we nominate a Christmas Boss, who hands out the presents one by one. Watching the kids’ faces is always the best bit.The men will then start the bacon and egg breakfast on the BBQ while the rest of us set the table and help the kids put together all their new toys. We eat and then it’s wash up time (ohh dearrr).
We have a big Christmas dinner on Christmas Eve because it’s my niece’s birthday and we eat what’s ever left over the next day with oysters and prawns..yummmm. In all, Christmas turns into a massive chill fest with swimming in the pool and a few drinks while enjoying spending time with each other.

My partner’s family live in the same town, so we head off for a late lunch with his side of the family. Lunch usually consists of my Father in Law’s famous marinated steaks and an amazing cold, curry rice salad that is, to die for. A few beers and wines, relaxing and enjoying each others company. (by this time, I am very, very full of awesome food)

This year, Christmas was looking to be a bit of a somber affair for us. Having moved away from the family and not being able to fly back because of work, I was preparing myself for a Christmas that would feel like every other day.

Bummed, would be an understatement.

My spirits were lifted when I realised we live in a world with internet, webcams and skype!!

I am now back on the Christmas bandwagon! My youngest nephew is old enough to understand the concept of Christmas now and there is no way I’m going to miss his gorgeous face when he see’s that mountain of presents and I am so pumped to still be apart of Christmas back home. I’m going to miss the curry rice salad though.

My 2013 Christmas will consist of a few skype calls to my loved ones.

I’m trying to convince my family to carry my face around on the laptop all day (I’ll let you know how that goes)

Are any of you having a Christmas that strays from the norm?

I’d love to hear about some of your family traditions.

Keep it real,

Eliza

This entry was published on December 7, 2013 at 5:28 AM. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

