ElizaThinksAllowed

R.I.P Zac Young

ZacYoung

So I found out a few days ago that Zac Young, a 19 year old surfer, was fatally attacked by a shark in Coffs Harbour.

I received a few texts from people asking if I knew a “Zac Young”? At first I had no idea who this man was so I googled a few news articles and found a photo of his gorgeous face. My heart sunk. He was that cheeky little kid I walked passed all the time in High School. I went to Primary School with his brother.

My boyfriend had surfed with him on occasion and my boyfriend’s mate knew him pretty well.

I didn’t really know him on a personal level but this tragic news seemed to really upset me. I started reading news article after news article. I’m pretty sure I’ve read every article I could find online. His story has completely broken my heart.

This young man had just received his P’s and called on his mates for a surf trip. They went, completely unaware it would end in such a way. His 3 mates, dragged him to shore after he called out for help. They paddled for over 15minutes to get Zac back to shore completely aware there was a shark in their midst.

You know what his last few words were? “I love you guys” Then he started praying for the Lord to give him and his friends strength at this time. Seriously, I’m heart broken.

Like I said, I only knew of him, but his passing has effected me. I went to his Facebook page and discovered he was a devoted Christian who travelled the country to give motivational talks to Youth. He was 19! I also learned he loved to surf and just wanted to live life to the fullest. From what people have said, he was the happiest and most positive person anyone had ever met.

I moved to the other side of the country and I never had a complete conversation with Zac, but he has inspired me, touched my heart.
It’s unfortunate it has happened at such a time, but from what I’ve read about him, he would be stoked.

I’m sorry I never got to know you Zac, but Thank-you for what you have taught me even if it was only from your facebook page and the impact you have made on our community.

My thoughts go out to his mates, and family. Be strong guys, Zac is a truly inspirational man and I’m sure he’s looking out for you all.

Rest In Peace: Zac Young

Touching hearts all over the world.

Keep it real,

Eliza

This entry was published on December 2, 2013 at 10:56 AM. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “R.I.P Zac Young

  1. Michael a good friend of Zac on said:

    Thank you Eliza. I confirm everything you said about him. He was so incredible. He lived his life to the fullest and he is now where he always wanted to be. Thanks for your comforting words Eliza!
    God bless you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

